Washing meat and fish for the first time in my life is an experience I will never forget. I couldn’t even bring myself to touch it. But I had too as I had no other option. 3 years later,  I laugh at those memories. Something that seems so easy to me now was a big deal back then. That’s when I realized that the problem to facing an issue is panic. The moment panic attack happens, my brain shuts down and I don’t know what to do. My advice now is to be calm and know that if others can do it, you too probably can. And washing meat isn’t a big deal either.

When you buy goat meat or ‘mutton’ as we call it, the butcher will definitely cut it for you. And he will ask you if you want curry pieces or biryani pieces. Now that’s the Indian way of asking if you want small chunks or big ones; something I came to know later in my life. U guess biryani is our national dish. So big pieces = biryani pieces and small pieces = curry pieces.

Also fresh meat has a light reddish color as opposed to the pale meat which doesn’t taste as good. So when you buy meat, give it a good check. It is also said that the leg and neck of goat meat tastes the best. I often buy the leg chopped into small chunks.

Now that you have bought goat meat home, try to wash it before you freeze them. It’s better to wash and store in batches so that you won’t have to defrost the whole package later when needed.

Immerse the meat in a vessel filled with water. Use a pair of big cutting scissors to cut away the extra fat and blood clots in the pieces. Check each piece and wash the blood clots in running water. Cut away the extra fat sticking to the meat.

wp-image-1577273636jpg.jpeg

 

 

Once you have cleaned all the pieces, rinse them in 3 batches of water until the water is almost clear and there is no blood. In the last rinse, add 1/2 tsp of turmeric and rinse away. Turmeric is a natural antiseptic and hence kills any bacteria in the meat. Drain and store them in airtight containers in the freezer.

Don’t forget to disinfect your shears and sink too! Give it a good spray of all purpose cleaner and wipe away.

The same cleaning is followed for chicken meat too.

