Spinach happens to be one of the most despised food at my home. No one likes it and so do I. My mom has been stuffing them into me since I was a child. Now as I’m the cook of my home, I regret eating less of them. It’s because it’s so healthy and filled with nutrients like iron and zinc. So I decided to bring it into my weekly menu. But how do I get everyone to eat it? I then tried paalak dal once and even my 2 year old ate it well. So now this recipe is on my weekly menu for the healthy intake.

Ingredients

2 cups spinach

1 cup Toor dal (or pigeon dal or moong dal)

2 tbsp ghee

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 inch ginger, finely chopped

1 green chilli

1 tsp chilli powder

1/4 tsp asafoetida  (hing)

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

Salt

Directions

You can use any spinach you like for this recipe. Here I’m using the below spinach (Arai Keerai in tamil)

First, soak the spinach for a minute in water diluted with turmeric powder. Then, wash them in running water. Turmeric is antibacterial and will kill any bacteria in the spinach.

Chop the spinach roughly and keep them aside.

In a pressure cooker add the dal with turmeric powder and 1 cup water. Cook for two to three whistles.

In a pan, heat 3tbsp ghee and crackle cumin seeds, chopped ginger and green chilli.

Add in the chopped spinach and sauté them till cooked, about 5 minutes.

Next, add in chilli powder and asafoetida.

Cook the spinach till it starts giving out little water, around 2 to 3 minutes. 

Add in the cooked dal and mix.

Add salt. If you want it as a side dish for rice, add 1/2 cup water and simmer it for 3-4 minutes on medium flame.
Yummy paalak dal is ready to be served with chapati, roti or rice.

Tip

* For extra taste you can add a paste of 3tbsp grated coconut and 2 garlic cloves just like Dal For Roti recipe and then add the spinach to it.

