This recipe is quite special for me as I have been loving it since my childhood days. Mom used to make it often and I loved to have it for lunch. Once I got to know how easy it was, I got them packed for lunch for my husband as well. I believe the best combination for lemon rice would be with potato stir fry or potato wedges and some pickle. It stays fresh for long and hence great for food on the go. 

For 1 plate of lemon rice,

Ingredients-

  • Cooked rice
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp urad dal
  • 1 dry red chilli
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • Curry leaves
  • Salt

Directions –

1. Take the cooked rice in a wide plate or bowl. 


2. In a fry pan, heat oil and crackle mustard seeds. Add in the urad dal and dry red chilli.


3. Once the urad dal turns golden, add turmeric powder and curry leaves. Switch off flame.

4. Pour this seasoning over the rice. Squeeze half a lemon over it. Mix it all together. 


Yummy delicious lemon rice is ready. Enjoy it with potato fries or wedges.


Tips-

*Since I’m using fresh warm rice, I poured the seasoning over it. If your rice is hot, do not add it to the seasoning pan as it might cause the rice to get overcooked. Use the above method which is safer.

* If you are using a day old rice or cold rice, add the rice directly to the seasoning pan and mix well. Adjust the lemon concentration according to your liking.

* You can squeeze lemon over the seasoning pan but hot oil might change its taste. So I prefer squeezing lemon over the rice directly.

